Tradies' pay

he's got a degree - which i believe requires around TER (tertiary entrance ranking in victoria) of 97% or more. everyone to their own. i believe in combo of both but too much uni only makes you less "street smart"

Ahh right. I didn't think you could be a mortgage broker without some sort of business or finance related degree. I guess his comments meant he must not have had any life experiences during his time at uni.

Actually to be a broker all you need is a certificate IV in financial services - so it's not much educational requirements. But I have far more education than that - maybe to my own detriment.

There is some value in education but I think people put too much emphasis on it. There's so many universities/course these days, so many meaningless backoffice and administration jobs that university education no longer carries the same entitlement it once had.

You don't make money from working in a job - Melbournian knows that, I know that, and most people on this forum know that. You are trading your own time for money - which is by definition limited. A job is fine if you want to be ordinary - but not everyone wants to be ordinary.

Well, when you consider a brain surgeon vs. a street sweeper it's obvious who should make the most money. Proportionate to the value of their job. But there is no shortage of formally unskillled/un tertiary educated business owners why make more than a brain surgeon.

But I don't think an accountant should earn more Than say, a plumber. Or a real estate agent more than a sparkie etc.

k, I suppose its more complicated than that because of perceived value and responseability and DEMAND

Some questions to ponder around that might be

should a teacher that works 40 hrs a week be paid more than a builders labourer that works 50

Should a highly trained medical specialist that works 20 hrs a week be paid more than a plumber who works 50.

BTW, this question is targetted just at Evan, its in interesting idealogical question

he's got a degree - which i believe requires around TER (tertiary entrance ranking in victoria) of 97% or more. everyone to their own. i believe in combo of both but too much uni only makes you less "street smart"

Agree with this. There's stuff uni can teach you which is actually quite useful, and once you've combined this with experience you can get into quite interesting work.

FWIW, I do believe that a job won't make you rich, but the right job sure as hell helps.

hes the business owner the employees get half that

Yep...still moving to Syd...$500 a day...just turn up and work on site !

I'm flat out getting anywhere close to that in my own business here in the bush. let alone as just a trade worker.
After all my costs I'm lucky to net about $700/week....yes, per week....and that's in a good year.

But our property prices are cheaper so there ya go...horses for courses.

Well, when you consider a brain surgeon vs. a street sweeper it's obvious who should make the most money. Proportionate to the value of their job. But there is no shortage of formally unskillled/un tertiary educated business owners why make more than a brain surgeon.

But I don't think an accountant should earn more Than say, a plumber. Or a real estate agent more than a sparkie etc.

i'm not an accountant but A large majority of the CEOs or MDs have an accounting background.

I know the Managing Director in my workpace goes through the sales numbers and all the accounting ratios on a day to day. There are also specialist taxation accountants that earn major dollars

but if you comparing the base level auditor yeah they won't make more than a tradie. my electrican is a good example ranking in million a year and below 30.

So basically, if you're in business (trade or otherwise), you can set your own asking price and if the market pays, your earnings can be unlimited, unlike a salary or wage earner?

Ed-zachary.

So basically, if you're in business (trade or otherwise), you can set your own asking price and if the market pays, your earnings can be unlimited, unlike a salary or wage earner?

Why would there be any limit to9 what a business owner can earn. Beside - of course - himself.

Here's an eg: I have a mate that grew up in Western Sydney (now lives waterfront) who left school in yr.9, actually was asked to leave. He started spray painting cars in hsi backyard till the neighbors complained then he had to find something else to do. So he bought a bobcat off a mate.

Still about 16 or 17, started making good money. Then he bought another one, then another one, then trucks, then earth movers, then tractors, all sorts of stuff. Then a factory and yard to put it all in.

As his business grew, and making the big bucks, he started buying property.

Hes in his early 40s now, a multi, multi millionaire with a big business, property, great lifestyle, cars, (he recently bought an incredible original, immaculate Ford GTHO Phase 3 (thats his bogan side coming out haha). etc etc.

Never worked for another person, never went to Tafe or had any formal qualifications whatsoever. He's just a courageous, smart, hard working guy.

As a another mate of ours described him "Dave's got more front than K Mart"

Plenty like him around.

Yep...but, "if the market pays" is the leveller to all and sundry.

From 2000 to 2009 I was making a killing flat out working.

Last 2 years lucky to be working 7 or 8 months/yr.

Just like the property market it goes in cycles and is also subject to supply and demand.

Obviously not as much demand here in my neck of the woods as there was for me on the Central Coast where what you charged was bettered in Sydney by up to 50%.

case in point: Did a job for a client in St Ives back in 1999, yep, travelled down the F3 from Central Coast for a month and total invoices came to around $50k
Said client had other quotes upwards of $75k from the Sydney boys....
This happened alot I knew of many people who preferred the Coast boys to do their jobs.

Both Client & I was happy and I made approx $20k profit for the month which to date is still the best month I've produced in Landscaping. In fact it's never been anywhere near that since.

That's the diff, Syd pays better than Central Coast...Central Coast pays better than the bush where I am now.

Syd property cost more $$ than Central Coast
Central Coast property cost more $$$ than Bush.

Now I don't go around saying property is unaffordable for me while on my level of income, yet have managed to accumulate 4 IP's and a PPOR on 6 acres.
Lots of debt but lots of equity and rents almost covering total interest incl PPOR.
I still couldn't afford Sydney but I don't care.....I'm happy living where I can afford it.

In my opinion, education is so important. The benefits of better education go a lot further than just a persons salary.

I am bias as I am about to finish a town planning degree. But I will get more out of this then just the qualification. Over the past 4 years it completely changes you as to how you think, study, manage time, problem solve, communicate etc.. I even think that a degree in an unrelated field to your profession is beneficial.

Degrees open doors for a greater number of jobs. Even in the defence force/government jobs/police force it is advised you undertake some sort of further study to progress your career.

Sure there will always be that bludger at uni who barely passes and has to sit some sups and just makes it out with a degree - but this is not the majority. I think that generally a person holding a degree is more likely to be successful than someone who is not.

You might also argue that for the 4 years of a university degree you are earning nothing (well this is not the case for me, I am working in a TP consultancy part time on roughly 25k a year) - but tradies in their apprenticeship get **** all anyway. What is it? 7-14$ an hour?

Depending on your degree there are a number of jobs out there with good starting salaries - I am looking at 55-65k first year out. With a number of TP advised online for over 150k asking for 10 years experience. If I could be 30 earning 150k I would be very happy. Then I still have 20 years to work even higher.

My parents put my brother, sister and I into private schools and seriously encouraged us all to go to uni and get a degree - and we all have. And without a doubt I will do the same for my kids.

I don't plan to use my day job to make all my money - that is why I look into investing in property/shares/etc. and use my knowledge from my day job to support this.

I'd rather a stable job and with decent income that is easier than labouring all day.

It seems to me that the somersofters arguing that further education is important are the people who hold some form of it and the same goes for those arguing that further education isn't as good as society makes it out to be are the people that do not hold any further qualifications. Hmm.

Wow another one with a crazy idea.

Btw a $55-65k starting salary is not a 'good salary', especially if you studied 4 years for it. Only made that comment since you commented. If I graduated out of university and got that sort of pay, I'd choose to sleep at home, honestly.

$150k at 30 would be seriously dismal.

You could've been a tradie at 20 and made more lol.

Agreed. There in lies the answer.

Actually to be a broker all you need is a certificate IV in financial services - so it's not much educational requirements. But I have far more education than that - maybe to my own detriment.

There is some value in education but I think people put too much emphasis on it. There's so many universities/course these days, so many meaningless backoffice and administration jobs that university education no longer carries the same entitlement it once had.

You don't make money from working in a job - Melbournian knows that, I know that, and most people on this forum know that. You are trading your own time for money - which is by definition limited. A job is fine if you want to be ordinary - but not everyone wants to be ordinary.

Exactly.

The ultimate system is where people go to work / go run businesses and pay you for the right to do that.

Apart from governments who collect taxes, the only other class of peoples who can do that are landlords.

I sleep, you work, I get your payslip. Perfect system. Clearly YPG has chosen to work.

Pretty much... its called supply and demand.

But you as the consumer have the ultimate right to choose who you deal with and to a certain extent what you pay. If you want to always go with the cheapest quote all power to you.

Wow another one with a crazy idea.

Btw a $55-65k starting salary is not a 'good salary', especially if you studied 4 years for it. Only made that comment since you commented. If I graduated out of university and got that sort of pay, I'd choose to sleep at home, honestly.

$150k at 30 would be seriously dismal.

You could've been a tradie at 20 and made more lol.

my first year out i was on that sorta pay, now 2nd year out its double and has allowed me to do my masters next year as its only 4 days a week full time.. I guess it depends on the income potential growth, is it worth getting comparatively less at the beginning for a lot more at the end? (not including job enjoyment, fringe benefits and all other stuff you may get that differ from uni educated to blue collars)...

what would be a good salary then first year out in todays dollars? 80k?

65k first year out and only being 21, you think that's bad?

I actually think its pretty good - and by the time I am 25 I'm sure it would be able 90k. Gotta start somewhere? The four years of the degree ive been working part time on 25k a year anyways which is probably about the same as a tradie doing an apprenticeship anyway.

Deltaberry you must be really rich to snob your noes at that hah.

I am very contempt with that pay being first year out and getting paid more as I get more experience.

I really can't believe how you would shoot down 65k first year out so quickly? Wow Deltaberry how much did you earn from your first year out? And what did you do?

Sure town planning might not pay as much as some other degrees. But I am completely content with that as a starting salary. I wouldn't expect to earn more until I got some solid experience.

Reactions: weg
DEC - don't forget the average person doesn't have 4 years university education. Only 25% of the population has been to uni. And you're trying to compare with an average person...?

whitegoodman - I consider it ordinary, if not low. Glad you made double afterwards and kudos to you. But that still doesn't change the fact that it's not high. Was just stating a opinion or, rather, fact.

YPG - I am not very rich nor a snob. Just stating a fact for what it is. If you want to throw a comment out there about $65k being a good graduate salary, it's perfectly reasonable that people scrutinise it and suggest otherwise. Glad you are content with it, but just pointing out it's not the 'good salary' you're talking about. And yes - no need to ask twice - I honestly meant it when I said I'd rather sleep at home.

Exactly.

The ultimate system is where people go to work / go run businesses and pay you for the right to do that.

Apart from governments who collect taxes, the only other class of peoples who can do that are landlords.

I sleep, you work, I get your payslip. Perfect system. Clearly YPG has chosen to work.

Maybe I'm not as intelligent as you both, but I don't entirely get it? One day I would love to own my own business and have people working for me. But being 21 newly graduated with limited experience, how do you suggest I do this?

You have to start somewhere?

And I can't believe you said a 150k salary was dismal, are you living under a rock? :eek: Maybe its not good enough for you to earn that at 30 but it would be good enough for me - and I would consider myself lucky to be earning that.

I don't know about other people but I want to make my money through investing (hence being on a property forum) and use my salary as cash flow to support this.

Well according to you I may have it all wrong - but there is no way in hell I would take any of your advice.